surrounded by frengers

watching, hearing, seeing, thinking

week of 2007.04.16 to 2007.04.22

Posted by veritas on April 22, 2007

hikki owned this week – this week’s last.fm charts.

*Charts*

Top 5 Artists

1. Mew
2. Utada Hikaru
3. Suneohair
4. Orange Range
5. Do As Infinity

Top 5 Tracks

T-1. Suneohair – Uguisu (Album Mix)
T-1. Utada Hikaru – This Is Love
T-3. Utada Hikaru – Keep Tryin’
T-3. Orange Range – Yumekaze
T-5. Goto Maki – Uwasa no Sexy Guy
T-5. Shimamiya Eiko – Sora wo Mau Tsubasa -Album Mix-
T-5. Mew – Panda
T-5. Suneohair – Happy End (feat. Azumi)

*Ratings*

Top 5 Bands

1. Mew
2. Suneohair
3. Utada Hikaru
4. Orange Range
5. DAI

Top 5 Tracks

1. Mew – Am I Wry? No
2. Suneohair – Uguisu (Album mix)
3. Shimamiya Eiko – Sora wo Mau Tsubasa -Album Mix-
4. Utada Hikaru – This Is Love
5. Suneohair – Happy End (feat. Azumi)

Artist of the Week

Utada Hikaru – Unique style and voice, and a warm feeling from the music. Passion is one of the greatest compositions I’ve heard, if only thanks to KH2, but it says something that it’s not her best song.

Album of the Week

Utada Hikaru – ULTRA BLUE – This album made its way into my playlist with flying colors (literally). The album has a strong chemistry and the songs flow fluidly from one to another.

Songs of the Week

1. Utada Hikaru – This Is Love
This week was kind of hectic since I fixed all of my id3tags to match with the official tags, which means I’m pretty much restarting my track plays for my Japanese artists (60% of my music). Regardless, this song knocked off 空を舞う翼 which has been #1 for 3 weeks, which is pretty amazing, because I just couldn’t stop playing it. It was hard to decide between this and #2 Keep Tryin’ as the top choice but this song is just what I wanted.

2. Utada Hikaru – Keep Tryin’
I’m not sure who else can tell, but it’s pretty obvious that she had a lot of fun writing this song and put a lot of energy behind it. On the Utada United 2006 DVD, the performance for this song has a lot more action-lyric interaction going on than in her other songs (like she gets up on a step and does a pose for “クールなポース決めながら”, i laughed) and it is shown in the PV as well. Good sfx and overall would have beat “This Is Love” if it was in the same context.

3. Suneohair – Uguisu (Album mix)
Amazing still. Can’t stop listening to it.

4. Orange Range – Lights
This song was a sleeper, and it grew on me the more i listened to it. It’s another peaceful shocker, and as we all know, contradictions are hot. It captivates the new Orange Range direction that the band is trying to head towards.

5. Suneohair – Pinto
Well I lied, there were just too many new and fresh exciting songs this week for AIWN to get on this list. Pinto has the same mood that I have every day going to class, work, with friends, etc, which is a nice feeling to have when you listen to a song, it’s as if the song understands what you are about, instead of the other way around.

Leave a comment